Agnostic.com

12 6

Do you feel weary from current terms for world politics?

Does anyone else feel weary, trying to figure out the meaning of current terms for world politics?

My eyes glaze over. And I have a master's degree.

"What's the difference between 'natavism' and 'nationalism'?" I think. "'Authoritarianism' vs. 'totalitarianism'"?

It used to be fun to read Newsweek and Time.

"Racist," "sexist" and "bigot" make sense. Now this:

populism
xenophobic
globalization
nativism
nationalism
authoritarianism
totalitarianism
alt-right
white nationalist
neoliberalism
modernization
collectivism
individualism
elitism
industrialization
isolationism
inequality
free-trade
fair-trade, and more.

We live in a very complicated world. Thus, we are continually exposed to complicated terms.

LiterateHiker 9 June 26

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

12 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

It's the mass media trying to sound intelligent. They're failing.

Nationalism might be most easily described as patriotism or pride of country. Part of our national pride was once rooted in our diversity, e plurbus unim. Nativism in not nationalism, it is the preference of the native born over the immigrant. Nativism is often born in racism and xenophobia. Watch an old WWII patriotic movie if you struggle with these concepts. Those "fun" moon landing editions of Newsweek and Time also contained news of the Vietnam War. It was never easy and nearly all of the terms you list are very old.

Keep the masses confused ... or it does something just a little unexpected ... it educates them!
And we all know what happens when the masses become educated ... they want answers!

Of course I could be full of shit in which case ... nothing to read here ... winks!